Select Page

Recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award

CMSA's tenth Lifetime Achievement Award was bestowed upon Mindy Owen, CCM, CRRN, RN in 2021 

View Award Presentation

Mindy Owen began her career in nursing more than 37 years ago and served as both an ICU and rehabilitation  nurse before making the jump into the then new field of case management.

Mindy’s knowledge of hospital case management and revenue management have earned her respect across the industry. She has spent the bulk of her career as a lead consultant, tasked with being a change agent for large health system case management operations and has demonstrated stern commitment to organizational culture, quality, and efficient system change. She has the uncanny ability to address the most complex challenges with consummate grace. Mindy models the essence of our industry’s established resources of guidance, including CMSA’s Standards of Practice for Case Management and CCMC’s Code of Conduct; documents that she has played an important role in developing and securing for the future.

Mindy’s awards and publications are numerous and expansive; Mindy served as the second President of CMSA and during her tenure, CMSA doubled in membership, she helped define Case Management for the Congressional record, and guided the national conversation regarding healthcare and case management. Additionally, Mindy volunteered to work on a committee in 1993 to launch a case management certification and served for 11 years as a CCMC commissioner and chaired the commission twice including working to design, develop and implement the Case Management Code of Conduct.

Mindy has written tirelessly about case management and encourages others to write as well. She has served on the Professional Case Management editorial board for more than 15 years and authored PCM’s Heartbeart of Case Management column.

She established Phoenix HealthCare Associates, a healthcare consulting /educational case management business, to provide education, interim services, and consulting to large healthcare systems and community hospitals.  “It has been my greatest joy to bring resources and tools to listen and learn from all clients and hopefully provide support, and value and help leadership and staff whenever I have been asked.”



Previous Recipients

2019 - Patricia Agius, BS, CCM, CPHQ, RN of Millville, DE

2016 - Dr. Hussein Tahan, PhD, RN, FAAN

2015-- Anne Llewellyn, CCM, CRRN, MS, RN-BC of Plantation, FL

2014-- Margaret Leonard, MS, RN-BC, FNP, of New Rochelle, NY

2010-- Catherine Mullahy, RN, BSS, CRRN, CCM, of Huntington, NY

2008 – Nancy Skinner, RN-BC, CCM of Whitwell, TN

2006 – Jeanne Boling, MSN, CRRN, CDMS, CCM, of Little Rock, AR

2005 – Mary Gambosh, RN, CCM, of Charlotte, NC

2003 – Tom Strickland of Little Rock, AR

Case Management Society of America
5034A Thoroughbred Lane
Brentwood, TN 37027