Select Page

Case Management Fellow Program - FCM™

Case Management Fellows represent a diverse community of thought leaders that take an active role in the identification of future trends and issues affecting case management, serve the public and the case management profession by advancing the standards of practice through excellence, and exude a passion for the profession.

Earning the FCMTM indicates a high level of demonstrated proficiency in the professional practice of case management, showing a commitment to knowledge through continuing education and publication, and establishes Fellows as influencers to the growth of the profession.

FCMs are recognized leaders of the case management community, ambassadors of the profession, visionary, strategic thinkers, mentors, authors, speakers, leaders, and facilitators.

The application period for 2023 has closed.


Minimum Qualification Criteria

  • Hold a case management certification from a nationally recognized certifying body.
  • Be a current member of CMSA for most recent five (5) years.
  • Minimum of ten (10) years in the professional practice of case management.
  • Possess professional licensure or hold an advanced health and human services degree.

Application Process

  • Complete the online CM Fellow Application Form to CMSA by date provided: include a personal statement that captures your enthusiasm and expands on your commitment to the field of case management through your work and your volunteer efforts.
  • Provide an essay on why becoming a Fellow will advance your work and demonstrate your leadership successes – view an example of the application criteria. 
  • Attach your Curriculum Vitae and a Current Professional Head Shot for Publication
  • Attach three (3) letters of recommendation from three separate individuals that have worked with you in a professional or volunteer capacity with first-hand knowledge of your contributions to the field of case management. Consider a supervisor, mentor, mentee, professional peer, someone in a leadership position, or another FCM. *Members of the CM Fellow Selection Committee are not able to provide recommendation letters.
  • Submit your application and non-refundable payment of $350.

The CM Fellow Selection Process

  • Applications will be reviewed by the CM Fellow Selection Committee, made up of 5-9 members that are FCMs and appointed by the CMSA President.
  • Applications meeting the minimum criteria will be reviewed and evaluated by the CM Fellow Selection Committee utilizing a scoring rubric that recognizes innovative and leadership qualities that go above and beyond.
  • The decisions of the Selection Committee are final.

The CM Fellow Renewal Process

  • Current Fellows must renew their Fellow status every two (2) years.
  • A renewal fee of $250 will be required at time of renewal.
  • Renewing Fellows must be current CMSA members in good standing and have a current case management certification.
  • A brief statement on continued contributions to the professional practice of case management will be required for renewal.

CMSA Founding Fellows:

Patricia Agius, BS, RN, CCM, CPHQ, FCM
Jeanne Boling, MSN, CCM, CRRN, FCM
Anne Llewellyn, MS, BHSA, RN, CCM, CRRN, CMGT-BC, FCM
Catherine Mullahy, RN, BS, CRRN, CCM, FCM
Mindy Owen, RN, CRRN, CCM, FCM
Nancy Skinner, RN, CCM, CMGT-BC, ACM-RN, CMCN, FCM
Hussein M. Tahan, PhD, RN, FAAN, FCM
Gary Wolfe, RN, CCM, FCM

CMSA CM Fellows - Class of 2022:

Catherine Campbell, DNP, FCM
Janet Coulter, MSN, MS, RN, CCM, FCM
Colleen Morley, DNP, RN, CCM, CMAC, CMCN, ACM-RN, FCM
Patricia Noonan, MBA, RN, CCM, FCM
Melanie Prince, MSS, MSN, BSN, NE-BC, CCM, FCM, FAAN

Case Management Society of America

5034A Thoroughbred Lane
Brentwood, TN 37027